Choose Messy

life.jpgStudents joined staff this week to kick off the 2016-2017 school year. The energy in the building was palpable! Teachers shared a little bit about who they are as a person and a learner with their classes. Students worked through ice breakers and team-building activities, setting each group on its unique journey to becoming a team. Students high-fived me in the hallways. Smiles were infectious. Positivity strummed through the building.

I know the beginning of the year is shiny and new, but I started wondering how we can we ride this momentum into the best year yet? What was it that made these first few days special?

Was it the focus on relationships first, knowing the rest will come?

Was it the staff community joining forces to share a unified message?

Was it the fact that everyone stepped out of their comfort zones to do what’s best for kids?

Whatever it was I was loving it! As I moved about the building taking it all in, I started noticing something. I had a blast joining in the I like People Who and The Big Question activities, learning commonalities that I shared with students. Both ice breakers being interactive and energetic. The kids were smiling and their was 100% engagement, a win-win! So what made these first few days special? I think that if we remember that these four choices are choices we make, directly or indirectly, when planning each of our lessons, we can ride this momentum throughout this school year.

If you have to choose between silence and discussion

CHOOSE DISCUSSION

If you have to choose between seated and standing

CHOOSE STANDING

If you have to choose between messy and neat

CHOOSE MESSY

If you have to choose between quiet and noisy

CHOOSE NOISY

Life is messy, loud and in constant motion

Let’s make sure our schools mimic real life.

Isn’t that what we are preparing them for?

5 thoughts on “Choose Messy

  1. I LOVE this blog post! I love middle schools. Thank you for this. With your permission, I’d like to share these beautiful words especially,

    “If you have to choose between silence and discussion

    CHOOSE DISCUSSION

    If you have to choose between seated and standing

    CHOOSE STANDING

    If you have to choose between messy and neat

    CHOOSE MESSY

    If you have to choose between quiet and noisy

    CHOOSE NOISY”

    Wonderful and wonderful.
    Thank you again,
    Jeff Nelson
    https://fifetli.wordpress.com/
    @jeffnelsontli

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed this read! It is so refreshing to hear administrators talk about getting in to classrooms and participating in the learning…especially at the beginning of school. I also think it is very interesting that right before I read this post from you, I read another blog posted on the #IMMOOC facebook page titled, “Innovation is a Hot Mess” So apparently you two think alike! Here is that post if you are interested: https://fromthecyberside.wordpress.com/2016/09/15/innovation-is-a-hot-mess/

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I couldn’t agree more! I am a principal in a K-8 school and if I had to sit in my office all day I would hate my job. You really need to be visible to your students to build a rapport or you won’t be effective in your office either. I’m at a new school this year and it is a struggle to escape from the paperwork and the procession at my office door to get our there in the hallways, classrooms and playground. There are few things more energizing and fulfilling than to see all of those little faces (and older ones too) happy to see you, waving and calling your name.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

