Change is Hard

th-2.jpg

This year we, our building, has taken on a lot of change. We implemented a longer advisory period which will include some flexible group for support and enrichment. A mental health grant was awarded to us for the next three years. The year was kicked off  with a laser-like focus on relationships and community building in the classroom. We continue to build our skills of teaching all content areas through a literacy lens. Our team even tweaked our building-wide behavioral support program, adding in an additional problem solving layer with a qualified staff member, instead of jumping right to an office referral. Whew! That is a lot of change!

As I reread the list above, I am proud of my staff taking on these much needed changes. I am proud of their vision and collaboration to prepare for these changes over the summer. As I look at all we are doing I see that they are all well intended changes and all changes that our kids deserve.

Then why are we feeling stress at the end of September?

Because change is hard. Change takes dedication and hard work to accomplish. The change that we are going through is deep. We are not adding to the plate, we are changing the plate. This is a culture of learners who are innovating to meet the needs of all of our learners everyday. Change takes GRIT and resilience. We have to struggle through it for it to have any chance of lasting. There will be bumps in the road and growing pains. It is part of the process.

I am learning to embrace the bumps in the road knowing full well that I learn more the bumpier the road is. I am learning to remain positive, which can be a challenge in and of itself. I am also learning that the majority of others are embracing these changes too. Sometimes the naysayers seem loud and many when really they are loud because there are few. I am learning to stay the course. These are noble changes that may be challenging for staff, but will be worth it for our kiddos. As I ponder this journey I always come back to one question: What is the purpose of education?

We, in the United States, have an educational system in place that was established over 100 years ago. At it’s inception, the purpose of education was to prepare students to work in factories and on farms. It was important that those entering the workforce have a good grasp on the English language as well as basic reading and writing skills. Students needed to be able to take direction and carry out those directions to the liking of the their supervisor.

Dare I say a lot has changed?

One of my favorite quotations comes from a superintendent who I had the privilege to work for at the beginning of my educational career. He currently consults with school districts who are working to embrace personalized learning and in my opinion is quite wise. Jim Rickabaugh, @drrickabaugh, says

We have a systems problem… the need for initiatives and programs such as RtI and differentiation are needed to overcome our design problem. the purpose of education has changed. It is time to lay the current design (established in the late 1800’s) to rest.

th-1.jpg

Unfortunately, few are ready for this kind of system change, yet there are some who are paving the way. It is time for us to pay our respects to this archaic system. It has served us well, BUT. It is not serving us well anymore. We need to embrace these changes. We need to always ask ourselves, is this what is best for kids? Because if it is best for kids, it certainly will be best for adults, they just don’t know it yet.

Leave a comment